History of Games

The Western Canada Summer Games were officially launched in Regina, August 1975, in a pre-Olympic Games year, along with the decision to hold the Games every four years, one year ahead of the Olympic Games and using the same 23 summer sports disciplines. The following is a list of the Games hosted to-date:

1975: Regina, SK
1979: Saskatoon, SK
1983: Calgary, AB
1987: Regina, SK
1991: Winnipeg, MB
1995: Abbotsford, BC

1999: Prince Albert, SK
2003: Selkirk, Stonewall, Gimli and Beausejour, MB
2007: Strathcona County, AB
2011: Kamloops, BC
2015: Wood Buffalo, AB

The following hosting rotation has been approved by the Ministers:

2019: Saskatchewan
2023: Manitoba
2027: Northwest Territories

The Western Canada Summer Games are intended to provide development opportunities for amateur athletes and to help them advance their skills in a competitive, but friendly environment. The Games also serve to broaden the exposure of talented athletes and provide a training ground for national and international level competitions. Social and cultural elements round out the sporting events for athletes.

The Western Canada Summer Games have also presented an opportunity for Host Communities in the western provinces and territories to successfully take on the challenge of staging such a major event. The process, therefore, has a dual role: a major multi-sport Games for athletes and a unique opportunity for promoting community development.

Start typing and press Enter to search